top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlannah Morrow

A STEP BACK IN TIME



I love history. I always have. So much so that I studied it at university and then went onto to become a History teacher. I don't really know where this love came from but it has always fascinated me. In secondary school I knew straight away that this was my favourite subject. It drew me in every day and I was always so excited when I knew it was on the time table for that day. As I grew older, went through A-Levels and uni, this interest never left.


I always want to know things. I want to know so much about our past that my brain can't keep up. I'll jump from century to century, from the history of the Middle East to the Tudor Monarch. Despite all of this jumping around I have always been fascinated with local history. Ireland/Northern Ireland the Island of Ireland, whatever you wish to refer to it as. Irish history is quite a divisive topic, in that you either love it or you hate it. I haven't met anybody who has been slightly in the middle when it comes to this subject. For me it has always been a love. For a long time it was more modern history- The Partition of Ireland, War of Independence, The Troubles, all the stuff you would expect. However, over the past couple of years I have really began to take notice of our landscape and not only that but realise the sheer amount of history on these parts.



Ancient Ireland, the Kingdoms, the Chieftains and local rivalries are all something which has captured my attention. I have always been aware of this history of course, however the past couple of years, exploring around the North Coast has really opened my eyes to the centuries of history in some of our favourite local beauty spots


One of my absolute favourite locations is Kinbane Head. A stunning hidden gem along the North Coast that is absolutely breathtaking. A walk down quite a few steps has you suddenly in a quiet little haven. The sea stretches out for miles with views of Rathlin Island in the distance and the high cliffs all provide a breath taking landscape. However it is in this small little area where you are transported back right back in time to the 16th Century!


The castle was built in 1547 by Colla Macdonnell, son of Alexander MacDonnell, Lord of Islay and Kintyre ( The Macdonnell's were a very powerful Highland clan). In 1551 and then in 1555, the castle was besieged and was partly destroyed. A siege in 16th Century saw the Highland clans answer a distress call of fire beacons along the coast, the English soldiers who had layed siege to the castle were quickly dealt with. After the death of Colla Macdonnell. The castle was then passed to another leading clan known as Clan Macallister who continued to pass it down to their descendants until the 18th Century. I couldn't find much more after this about the castle, but will continue to keep digging.





For me, I think that is absolutely fascinating. The next time you visit Kinbane Head and see the ruins, imagine the place it once was. Imposing clifftops, roaring waves crashing, lands controlled by brutal clansmen. Imagine those people visiting this castle, who were they? What went on here on this piece of land. What scandals and heartache played on in this very area. As you are walking across the ground are you walking the same steps the Chieftain once walked, the person who held the highest prestige and authority throughout the land? You are walking through an ancient period of history, getting a glimpse into an era long gone. Have a think about that next time you go, I guarantee you, you won't think the same about this place.


History is pretty great.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page